Acorns & Conkers 

Acorns - Mrs Radcliffe

Conkers - Mrs Wilcock

At Carrwood Primary School we aim to create an “enjoyable experience in which the children explore, investigate, discover, create, practise, rehearse, repeat, revise and consolidate their developing knowledge, skills, understanding and attitudes” Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage. P20. 2000

Each area of learning has Early Learning Goals which are the expectations for children to reach by the end of the Foundation Stage. Reception staff will make ongoing assessments of the children by incidental and focused observations and collecting evidence of learning e.g. photographs and samples of work. Children also participate in daily literacy and numeracy activities in whole class and group situations.

The classroom is organised so that children will become independent learners. Resources are labelled and photographed so that the children can put the things they have used back away. We try to give the children as much space as possible to move around and work on activities that interest them, working individually and in small and large groups. When children have completed independent work they are encouraged to label it and put it to the ‘going home box’ so that they can take it home at the end of the day.

Areas of Learning

The foundation stage begins when a child is 3 and lasts until the end of the reception year, when a child is 5. The curriculum for the foundation stage is organised into 7 areas of learning. The three ‘prime areas’ and four ‘specific areas’.

The three prime areas are:

Personal, Social & Emotional Development

This area involves the development of…

  • Good and positive attitudes towards learning
  • Self-confidence and self esteem
  • Good relationships with adults and peers
  • Behaviour and self control
  • Independence and self care
  • Understanding and respect for each other’s needs

Communication and Language

This area involves the development of…

  • Understanding
  • Speaking
  • Listening and Attention

Physical Development

This area of the curriculum is concerned with....

  • Movement
  • Balancing and climbing
  • Co-ordination and control
  • Sense of space
  • Health and bodily awareness
  • Use of small & large equipment
  • Using tools and materials

The four ‘specific areas’ are:

Mathematical Development

This area covers the development of the skills involved in…

  • Counting
  • Sorting
  • Matching
  • Pattern
  • Number
  • Shape
  • Space
  • Measures
  • Making connections
  • Calculating


This area covers the development of the skills involved in…

  • Reading
  • Writing

Understanding of the World

This area of learning promotes children’s development and understanding of....

  • Exploration
  • Investigation
  • Information, Communication & Technology
  • Sense of time
  • Sense of place
  • Cultures and beliefs
  • Looking at things in our environment

Expressive Arts and Design

This area of learning includes…

  • Art
  • Music
  • Dance
  • Role play
  • Imaginative play
  • Design and constructing